Boys Basketball

O’Dea’s Paolo Banchero named MVP of 3A boys basketball Washington state tournament (2019 3A boys all-tournament teams)

After leading O’Dea to the 2019 WIAA 3A boys basketball state championship, sophomore Paolo Banchero was named the MVP of the 3A boys state tournament.

No. 11 O’Dea had a tough draw, needing wins on four consecutive days to capture the state title. They did it with ease, winning by an average margin of nearly 17 points, including a 70-39 blowout of Mt. Spokane in the championship game.

Banchero was dominant vs. Mt. Spokane, finishing with 20 points, 7 rebounds, 6 assists and 5 blocks.

Here are the complete Washington 3A boys basketball all-tournament teams for 2019:

All-tournament teams: 4A boys | 3A boys | 4A girls | 3A girls


Paolo Banchero, O’Dea, Soph. (No. 5)


Shaw Anderson, Kelso, Sr. (No. 24)

RaeQuan Battle, Marysville-Pilchuck, Sr. (No. 21)

Marjon Beauchamp, Rainier Beach
(Photo by Geoff Vlcek)

Marjon Beauchamp, Rainier Beach, Jr. (No. 3)

(Photo by Geoff Vlcek)

Tyson Degenhart, Mount Spokane, Soph. (No. 24)


J.T. Smith, Mount Spokane, Sr. (No. 15)

Noah Williams, O’Dea, Sr. (No. 24)

Chris Penner, Capital, Sr. (No. 15)

Eastside Catholic boys basketball

Shane Nowell, Eastside Catholic, Soph. (No. 1)

Mitchell Saxen, Ingraham, Jr. (No. 11)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.