Boys Basketball

Matty McIntyre, Jace Wambold named Greater Spokane League boys basketball coaches of the year

Gonzaga Prep’s Matty McIntyre and North Central’s Jace Wambold have been named the 2019 boys basketball coaches of the year in the 4A/3A Greater Spokane League.

McIntrye led Gonzaga Prep (25-2) to the GSL regular season title, the District 8 championship and the 4A state championship. Wambold led North Central to a 9-13 overall record.

Here are the 2019 All-GSL boys basketball teams:

Coaches of the Year

4A: Matty McIntyre, Gonzaga Prep

3A: Jace Wambold, North Central


Anton Watson, senior, Gonzaga Prep

First Team

Jerry Twenge, senior, Mt. Spokane

Reece VanLierop, senior, Ferris

Tyson Degenhart, sophomore, Mt. Spokane

Liam Lloyd, junior, Gonzaga Prep

Leon Sayers, senior, North Central

Second Team

Marcus Lenker, senior, University

Jake Groves, senior, Shadle Park

Griffin Effenberger, senior, Lewis and Clark

Jayce Simmons, junior, Central Valley

JT Smith, senior, Mt. Spokane

Honorable Mention

Logan Phillips, senior, University

McCoy Spink, junior, Ferris

Tanner Brooks, senior, Mt. Spokane

Sheadon Byrd, senior, Gonzaga Prep

Kyle Clay, senior, Central Valley

Jake Parola, senior, Gonzaga Prep

Cole Omlin, sophomore, Ferris

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.